Friday, April 1, 2011

Bruce Gamble on Greg “Pappy” Boyington


My friend, historian and award winning author Bruce Gamble joins us to talk about the Top Marine Ace "Gregory "Pappy" Boyington" and the famous Black Sheep Squadron. Pappy Boyington is a legend, his antics and persona was heightened in the TV Series Ba Ba Black Sheep and made him an American Icon.
Bruce Gamble has written two (2) books on Boyington and the Black Sheep. He is quote in historical circles to be the de facto historian on the legendary figure. Join us as Bruce takes us through Boyingtons life and if you do not believe in fate.... by the end of this story, we just might change your mind. Included on this page is an interview we did together back in October 2010 on his book Fortress Rabual. Visit Bruce at his website

Greg “Pappy” Boyington

Download this episode (right click and save)

Fortress Rabual

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

2010 Our History Project Literary Excellence Awards

It is our pleasure to announce the winners of our 1st Annual Literary Excellence Award.

The entries this year were unsolicited works chosen by the staff and reviewers of Our History Project that has been newly read or heard by a staff member or reviewer of Our History Project during the year 2010. There were over 200 titles entered in five (5) categories that were included in this year’s competition. Two (2) awards are being issued; Gold and Silver; for each category. Each winner received a formal  letter, a certificate for framing and a 6 inch x 6 inch 300 dpi logo that may accompany the work that has been awarded (Gold or Silver).

Our History Project, Inc. is a national nonprofit organization, whose mission and vision is the “Preservation” and “Education” of United States History. Our main focus is historical based works, however our staff reads many genres of books and we all share a passion for a story. 2010 marked our First Annual Literary Award. The list contained those submitted, reviewed, purchased or downloaded.

Below is a list of all winning titles. Join us as we celebrate these authors, narrators, publishers and their stories. These are our picks of the Best of the Best. Check them out, buy them, read them, download them or listen to them!

2010 Our History Project Literary Excellence Award Winners

Best Young Adult

Gold Award

M. L. Forman - Adventurers Wanted, Book 1: Slathbog's Gold - Shadow Mountain

ISBN-10: 1606410296, ISBN-13: 978-1606410295

Silver Award

Hilari Bell - Player's Ruse – A Knight and Rogue Novel - HarperTeen

ISBN-10: 006082509X, ISBN-13: 978-0060825096

Best Fantasy

Gold Award

Markus Heitz - The War of the Dwarves – Orbit

ISBN-10: 0316049360, ISBN-13: 978-0316049368

Silver Award

Trudi Canavan - The Magicians' Guild -The Black Magician Trilogy, Book 1Eos

ISBN-10: 006057528X, ISBN-13: 978-0060575281

Best History

Gold Award

Joseph Cummins - The World's Bloodiest History: Massacre, Genocide, and the Scars They Left on Civilization - Fair Winds Press

ISBN-10: 1592334024, ISBN-13: 978-1592334025

Silver Award

Thomas J. Craughwell - The Buck Stops Here: The 28 Toughest Presidential Decisions and How They Changed History - Fair Winds Press

ISBN-10: 159233427X, ISBN-13: 978-1592334278

Best Podcast Novel

Gold Award

John Lenahan - Shadowmagic

Written and performed by John Lenahan


Peter James FroningLetter from China

Written by Peter James Froning, Read by Barrett Whitener

Best Audio Book

Gold Award

L. A. Meyer - Rapture of the Deep – A Bloody Jack Adventure

Written by L. A. Meyer, Read and Preformed by Katherine Kellgren

Listen and Live Audio - ISBN: 9781593164836

Silver Award

Scott Sigler – Contagious - Random House Audio

ISBN-10: 0739377159, ISBN-13: 978-0739377154

Friday, January 21, 2011

“Hey Buddy” by Gary W. Moore

" Hey Buddy is a wonderful and magical journey to find Buddy Holly -- the man, the legend, and his music. You will be blown away by what you hear and what you learn from Holly. From the crash investigations, talking to the Dwyers', and just exploring a decade of music, you thought you knew. This one is a keeper."

“Hey Buddy”- In pursuit of Buddy Holly, My New Buddy John, and My Lost Decade of Music

by Gary W. Moore
2011, Savas Beatie Publishing
219 Pages
I must start this review by saying I have never in my life, borrowed, checked out, read, listened or reviewed a book on music or musical artist(s). It is just not a subject that interested me. I was looking over Savas Beatie’s offering for 2011 and for some reason this book stood out to me, almost calling me. I went back to the page several times before ordering my copy.
“Hey Buddy” is Not a Biography on Buddy Holly. It IS a wonderful and magical journey to find Buddy Holly – The man, the legend and the music. We learn quickly that the author shared my view on music history; knowing a little but not really interested until that one night changed his life forever.

After being dragged to an event called the “Winter Dance Party” performed by John Mueller who impersonates Buddy, Gary W. Moore was transfixed, mesmerized and struck to the core. What this entire book revolves around his the quest to find the music.
Gary W. Moore book “Hey Buddy” is a Masterpiece. He takes us on the journey with him. We are there from the first moment that these emotions hit to the final visit to the crash site. You will find yourself researching, looking, listening and reading to what he did. Seriously, do not be surprised if you find yourself on the computer until 2-3AM.

Even though this book is a personal journey for Gary; his writing, his research; it is strangely perceived at the end as personal journey for you the reader. The reason I am stating this as a Masterpiece is that although this is his journey. I found myself not really seeing him that much in the book. I was in his skin, in his shoes and experiencing this journey for myself. It was my story!

Along this epic ride we take with us a host of characters; some serious, some funny, some sad and some angry. All of them culminate to bring this story to life. “Hey Buddy” will be one of your all-time favorites as it is now for me. This is a book and a journey you will have to experience for yourself and I promise you will not be disappointed.

“Hey Buddy” is for the hardcore Holly Fans and for those who have just heard about him. You will be blown away by what you hear and what you learn about Holly. From the crash investigations, talking to the Dwyers’ and just exploring a decade of music you thought you knew. This one is a keeper.
Craig Anderson
Our History Project

Monday, January 10, 2011

OHP Book Review - Lion of Liberty by Harlow Unger

“LION OF LIBERTY” Patrick Henry and the Call to a New Nation
Harlow Giles Unger
Da Capo Press-2010
321 pages

In this magnificent book Harlow Unger paints a portrait of Patrick Henry that will inspire, recharge and get us excited; if not passionate; about what freedom is and why we as Americans strive, desire and covet that ideal.

Harlow Unger, I have to admit is one of my favorite authors. He combines true story telling mixed with sound academic research and writing that leaves nothing out. Each chapter referenced is Healy laden with reference notes (18 pages), which include writings from Henry himself to letters of others, firsthand account documents, Court records, Church records and more. This serves in giving you, not only personal insight on his views, but a complete portrait of how others viewed him at the time.

The opening leaves you in suspense as the young Henry makes his first appearance in a courtroom, seemingly not sure what to do. The Judge was on the verge of throwing out the case and awarding the other party the victory. We find out later that Henry, a master of the courtroom stage was more than ready to argue almost any point. We see his love of family, love of country and love of law shine through.

In this work we see how Patrick Henry developed his skills in the backwoods. We see who his first audience (the animals) was and how he crafted his art and performance. As the book progresses we see his genius from soon to be peers to taking on challenges of the mother country in respects to the legal standings. These accounts you will just have to read for yourself, and I will say it is well worth the read.

This book sounds the cry of freedom and political statement s that are as relevant today as they were then. “Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death” may be Henry’s legacy to our Nation, but what you will find is that he left so much more. This Masterpiece and Portrait of Patrick Henry is something every American should read, regardless of your viewpoints; left or right. To continue on as a nation we have to have an understanding of who we are and the other viewpoints of the opposition, then we can grow. As much as Van Buran brought us party politics, Henry brought us the will and the determination to speak out, stand up and demand to be heard.

Reviewed by
Craig Anderson
Our History Project, Inc.

Saturday, December 11, 2010


Introducing a brand new way to tell your friends about Our History Project. To make it easier to find us by finding us by what we do and provide "History Podcast". Podcasting history has been a great tool for us to reach not only the historical community but also the classroom. We have had a vast number of educators bring our History Podcast to their classroom and because of it we have been invited to speak in 4 States so far.

We will continue to bring you quality content and stories of Our America. If you know a history lover send them to or now to  .

Any of the links and names will find us!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

"FOR LOVE OF COUNTRY" by William C. Hammond

In this second novel in the Cutler Family Chronicles, Bill Hammond paints for us a well-rounded, colorful portrait of life in early America.  He also profiles for us a loving and close-knit family that lives on both sides of the Atlantic and in Barbados, a family that becomes caught up in world events that affect not only the family's business fortunes, but also the very lives of several of its members.

What struck me most in For Love of Country was how historical figures became three-dimensional in the blink of the eye. One example is the meeting between Richard Cutler with Thomas Jefferson, America's consul in Paris in 1789.  Within three paragraphs I felt as though I knew Jefferaon personally. I was there to see his reactions, facial expressions, his humor, his intellect, his political views.  Just as in an actuall meeting, I drew a mental picture that allowed me to judge the person I was meeting for myself.

For Love of Country profiles the growing pains of a post-revolution America that struggles to find its roots and its place on the world stage.  We learn of the Barbary pirates and the complex role they played during this time in history.  Later we see France in turmoil as the leaders of the budding United States make bold and far-reaching decisions that will define what kind of country the United States is going to be. We come away with the understanding of what was and continues to be the driving force of our economy, the concept of free trade, and we understand what our enemies and out"fair weather friends" did in collusion to try to block our commercial growth. Importantly, we also learn what it took to finally convince our newly-formed government to authorize the construction of a navy to protect our sailors and merchant fleets.

Bill Hammond is a superb researcher and student of history.  His knowledge of American history is broad and deep enough to bring to  a radio show called the “Relic Roundup” a cogent discussion of the artifacts of that time period, and to suggest what a collector today might look for as relics of our nautical history.
For Love of Country is an engrossing novel and an important book.  I highly recommend it.

Craig Anderson
Our History Project

Friday, October 15, 2010

The Road to Iwo Jima by Tom McGraham

The Road to Iwo Jima
Tom McGraham
River Road Press, 2010
157 pages

The Road to Iwo Jima is a unique book in today’s publishing market, easy to read, to the point(s) and very enjoyable. I stated that this is a unique book so let me explain: The Road to Iwo Jima is not quite a memoir and it is not quite a novel. Our History Project had the chance to interview Mr. McGraham at a Military Writers Society of America conference about his experience and this book. He described that his story was meant to be for his family, a memory to be passed down, but was encouraged by many after reading his accounts to publish this piece, which he did through River Road Press.

When you read this book it is more in the flavor of a Grandparents Book. It did cover his career, combat and experiences; also it spoke of friends, hopes, dreams and accomplishments. It brought those who read it into not the story but his life, simply…he tells his story. The book like Mr. Tom is full of energy, humor, wit and the unmistakable free spirit of being young and just letting yourself be blown with the wind; “making the best you can with what you’ve got”. It does also describe the horrors of war and the price one pays to witness it, but it is done the empathy of the fallen and not lingered on. I think it will make it to the AR (Accelerated Reader) List that is popular or required in schools today.

Most people and even some historians forget that as we view, research and study our “History”, that the key phrase should be “His” or “Her”-Story. That is exactly what Tom McGraham gave us here: his-story and I am grateful to him for sharing it. It is a quick and interesting read for adults and children age 8 and up. You will not be disappointed in this one.

Craig Anderson
Our History Project